Florence Nightingale’s Trip to the 21st Century

1st entry:

The strangest thing has happened to me; it appears that by some miracle I’ve woken up in the 21st century! I am not sure if this is a dream or hallucination of some kind but this place is remarkably different from my time. I am hoping that my stay will be longer than a day but if not, I am going to try to write about everything around me.

2nd entry:

By some miracle I have made my way to what appears to be a hospital, it is very different to what I know about hospitals but there are a few similarities. One of the biggest differences is all the strange machines that I have no hope of deciphering before I leave. There are machines for everything! I’ve had the pleasure of meeting a few nurses who have been kind enough to answer some of my questions and they say that the machines nurses20190020stanley20roydrange from ones to monitor a patient’s vitals to robots that can perform surgery! If we had this technology in my time it would surely save thousands of lives. The nurses I’ve encountered are also vastly different from the nurses of my time, their training alone is extensive and I envy their ability to access these programs. If every person interested in nursing in my time had the training these nurses have, we would surely be able reduce “…the enormous and unnecessary mortality among the sick in the Hospitals of the East.” (Nightingale 344). Hopefully I can bring back aspects of the training these nurses are put through and implement them into the way nurses are trained in my time.

1475809946334504adffef559693d9fddef3aec9d26b5

3rd entry

Another aspect of this time that amazes me is the way that patient data is collected and kept track of. A nurse attempted to explain the internet and computers to me but it’s still difficult for me to grasp the idea that data can be exchanged easily and accurately with people arounflorence_nightingale2d the world. Their ways of collecting data are also much more accurate than the ways of my time, they don’t have different sources with wildly different data. As I stated in A Contribution to the Sanitary History of the British Army during the Late War with Russia “One thing is quite certain, that hundreds of our brave soldiers perished in regard to whom neither the when, the where, nor the how will ever be known.” (Nightingale 344). With this ability to accurately record data, this would no longer be a problem as we would have records of the deaths of our soldiers that would contain this data which in turn would allow us to hopefully aid in helping the wounded. Even though we have begun to create models to allow us to record data better, this experience wll hopefully aid in my pursuit to develop better systems.

4th entry:

There are so many things to be amazed by in this time like the fact that so many people are able to be cured for diseases that would likely kill them in my time. In A Contribution to the Sanitary History of the British Army during the Late War with Russia I mentioned that fever, cholera, diarrhea, dysentery, and scurvy were particularly dangerous and stated that, “These pestilences, which are the scourge of camps and armies now, as plague and Black Death used to be of towns in the middle ages, gave rise to a mortality in the Crimean army…” (Nightingale 346). These diseases are now considered common and curable in this time! The medicine here is amazing and the abilities of the nurses and doctors are much more advanced than those of caretakers of my time. I see patients will wounds and diseases, that we would have no hope of curing, healing and eventually leaving the hospital. This ability to cure these diseases makes me continue to question “…how it has happened that so many hundreds of millions of the human race have by pestilence perished before their time.” (Nightingale 345). Hopefully I will be able to bring some of these practices back with me and successfully implement them into the way I and others care for the wounded. If this experience can help save even one wounded person, then it will have been beneficial.

 

 

Leave a Reply

